Former AG's
  • Sh. Anand Swaroop

    Sh. Anand Swaroop

    Tenure : 02.11.1966 - 02.03.1969

    Born on 15th February, 1911, in the native town of Rohtak, Sh. Anand Swaroop joined the Bar in 1933 at Rohtak in Pre-Independence Era. He surrendered his license with the Bar Council in 1935 to join the freedon struggle after Mahatma Gandhi gave a call to boycott the British Courts.

  • no user

    Sh. Chetan Dass Dewan

    Tenure : 03.03.1969 - 02.05.1969, 15.06.1976 - 12.06.1977

    Born in the year 1911 at Bahawalpur in Pakistan. He shifted to Patiala after partition and practiced as an Advocate at the Pepsu High Court. Thereafter, Sh. Dewan rose to the Office of Advocate General of Pepsu State and after the merger of Pepsu State in the State of Punjab.

  • Mr. Justice Devi Singh Tewatia

    Hon'ble Mr. Justice Devi Singh Tewatia

    Tenure : 03.05.1969 - 05.02.1970

    Hon'ble Mr. Justice Tewatia was called to the Bar from Lincoln’s Inn. He joined the Bar at Gurgaon District Courts in the year 1955 and in 1957, he shifted his practice at the High Court of Punjab. He was elected Secretary of High Court Bar Association in 1965-66.

  • Mr. Justice Jagan Nath Kaushal

    Hon'ble Mr. Justice Jagan Nath Kaushal

    Tenure : 06.02.1970 - 14.06.1976

    He completed his LLB from Law College, Lahore and started practice at the District Courts, Patiala in the year 1936. In 1952, he was a Rajya Sabha member in the first Parliament of India and was re-elected in 1958.

  • Sh. Sushil Chand Mohunta

    Sh. Sushil Chand Mohunta

    Tenure : 01.07.1977 - 28.06.1979, 29.03.1988 - 23.06.1991

    Born on 26th April, 1929 at Sirsa, Haryana. After partition, he came to Delhi and did his B.Sc. from St. Stephen’s College, Delhi and LLB from Delhi University.

  • AG profile

    Sh. Uma Dutt Gour

    Tenure : 29.06.1979 - 12.11.1981

    Born on 1st January, 1924 in village Kosli, District Rohtak. After completing school education, he shifted to New Delhi and completed his graduation from St. Stephens College, whereafter he completed his degree of law from University of Delhi.

  • Dr. Harbhagwan Singh

    Dr. Harbhagwan Singh

    Tenure : 12.11.1981 - 04.02.1985

    Born on 22.2.1928, Dr. Harbhagwan Singh joined the Bar on 1.1.1952. He was designated as a Senior Advocate in the year 1976. Dr. Harbhagwan Singh remained a member of the Punjab & Haryana Bar Council from 1964 to 1970.

  • Sh. Hira Lal Sibal

    Sh. Hira Lal Sibal

    Tenure : 04.02.1985 - 11.07.1986, 24.06.1991 - 10.05.1996

    Sh. Hira Lal Sibal started practice in the year 1937 at District Courts, Lahore. After partition, he shifted his practice to Amritsar after which he moved to Shimla before finally settling at Chandigarh. He was designated as Senior Advocate in the year 1961.

  • Mr. Justice Manmohan Singh Liberhan

    Hon'ble Mr. Justice Manmohan Singh Liberhan

    Tenure : 14.08.1986 - 11.02.1987

    Born on 11th November, 1938. He started his practice at the Punjab and Haryana High Court in 1964. Justice Liberhan was elected as member, Punjab and Haryana Bar Council in August 1970 and continued as such till 11th February, 1987.

  • Sh. Hawa Singh Hooda

    Sh. Hawa Singh Hooda

    Tenure : 11.02.1987 - 20.06.1987, 13.05.1996 - 23.07.1999, 07.03.2005 - 09.11.2014

    Sh. Hooda joined the Bar in 1968. He was elected four consecutive times as a Member of the Bar Council, Punjab & Haryana during the span of Ist of December, 1975 and 30th May 1996. Sans opposition, Sh. Hooda was elected as the Chairman of the Bar Council of Punjab and Haryana.

  • AG profile

    Hon'ble Mr. Justice Attam Jit Singh Nehra

    Tenure : 23.06.1987 - 29.03.1988

    Born on 3rd June, 1935. He was appointed Additional Advocate General, Haryana in the year 1977 and then Advocate General, Haryana from 23rd June, 1987 to 29th March, 1988.

  • Sh. Mohan Jain

    Sh. Mohan Jain

    Tenure : 26.07.1999 - 20.11.1999

    Born on 5th September 1948 at Ratia, District Fatehabad. He was appointed Advocate General, Haryana on 26th July 1999 and continued as such till 20th November, 1999.

  • Mr. Manmohan Lal Sarin

    Mr. Manmohan Lal Sarin

    Tenure : 20.11.1999 - 06.07.2000

    Born on November 24, 1948 at Shimla. He joined the Bar on Ist July, 1971 and was designated as a senior Advocate in March, 1987. He was appointed Additional Advocate General, Punjab, from 20th July, 1989 and continued upto 28th June, 1990.

  •  Mr. Justice Surya Kant

    Hon'ble Mr. Justice Surya Kant

    Tenure : 07.07.2000 - 09.01.2004

    Born on 10th February, 1962 at Village Petwar in District Hisar. He did his Law from Maharishi Dayanand University, Rohtak in 1984 and started practice at District Courts, Hisar in July, 1984. In the year 1985, he shifted his practice to Punjab and Haryana High Court.

  • Sh. Ashok Aggarwal

    Sh. Ashok Aggarwal

    Tenure : 09.01.2004 - 06.03.2005

    Born on 21st April, 1950. After graduating in Economics (Hons.) from Government College, Hisar in 1971. In 1974, he joined the Bar and started his practice in the Punjab & Haryana High Court.He was appointed as Senior Standing Counsel for various Boards/Corporations.


©2015 AG Haryana. All rights reserved.
Total Visitor: 0
Website designed, developed & hosted by Hartron
back to top